The State Law Library extends borrowing privileges to Wisconsin judges and court staff, attorneys and authorized support staff, and government employees. To obtain a library card, simply stop in at any one of our three libraries, or register online and we'll mail your card to you.

To borrow materials, start by searching our online catalog to find an item you want and check its availability. Or, use our Start Here guides to find leading treatises on different subjects effortlessly.  Wisconsin judges and attorneys who are unable to come to the library may borrow materials through our convenient Borrow By Mail service.

Access subscription legal research tools without a charge from our public computers. We offer HeinOnline, Lexis Digital ebooks, and CCH AnswerConnect to our library cardholders, for use outside the library. Additional databases and digital research materials are available in our libraries. Learn more on our Articles & Journals page.

Westlaw is available at the State Law Library. The library's subscription to Westlaw includes primary law databases (case law, statutes, codes) at the Wisconsin and federal level plus all 50 states. In addition, users can access law reviews, forms, and a host of treatises. KeyCite, a citation verification tool, is also included. Wireless users at the Wisconsin State Law Library can also access Westlaw from their own devices.

Lexis Advance is available at the State Law Library. The library's subscription to Lexis Advance includes primary law databases (case law, statutes, codes) at the Wisconsin and federal level plus all 50 states. In addition, users can search books like Appleman on Insurance and Nichols on Eminent Domain.

The WSLL website is a virtual one stop shop for access to authoritative sources of legal and government information. The Legal Topics page alone contains thousands of links arranged in over 450 different topics, from Abandoned Property to Zoning Law. The Wisconsin Law page provides access to free, reliable sources of primary law such as statutes & administrative code, Supreme Court & Court of Appeals opinions, Attorney General Opinions, and local ordinances. You will also find federal law, tribal law and laws of other states. Search the library catalog, which includes records for print materials at all three of our libraries. Use our databases for journal and newspaper articles, county legal resources database, and much, much more to find what you are looking for faster, all from one website.

Head to our research guides to find resources in our collection on certain topics, watch video tutorials on library resources, and download helpful legal research guides at any time by visiting our Learning Center.