Credit & Debt
Ask a Librarian
Books
-
Collecting Debts: Tips and Strategies to Legally Get What You're Owed
by
Call Number: KFW2567.C6 C643 2007Publication Date: 2007• Implementing solid in-house collection strategies
• Pursuing legal action when collection measures fail
• Locating assets - avoiding playing "hide and seek"
• Successfully collecting judgments
• Ensuring compliance with the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA)
• Understanding creditors' rights in bankruptcy -
Collection Law from Start to Finish
by
Call Number: KFW2567.C6 C642 2015Publication Date: 2015• Pre-suit collection strategies
• The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act
• Filing the lawsuit: developing definitive strategies
• Collecting the judgment
• The impact of bankruptcy on collection
• Avoiding ethical tangles in collections -
Collection Law Tips and Strategies
by
Call Number: KFW2567.C6 D45 2012Publication Date: 2012• Ensuring compliance with the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act
• Averting potential ethical problems in collections
• Essential bankruptcy issues impacting collection law
• Locating assets before and after the judgment
• Handling post-judgment legal concerns
• Collecting the judgment: methods that work -
Collections: Seeking and Collecting a Judgment
by
Call Number: KFW2567.C6 C65 2013Publication Date: 2013• Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA): brief overview
• Collection litigation and motion practice
• Fraudulent conveyances
• Asset searches and the judgment debtor exam
• Post-judgment collection strategies
• Creditor remedies in bankruptcy
• Averting potential ethical problems in collections -
Protecting the Creditor's Rights During Bankruptcy
by
Call Number: KFW2620.A75 M25 2011Publication Date: 2011• Case evaluation
• Overview of creditors' rights under each chapter and claims and distributions
• Automatic stay
• Representing creditors in adversary proceedings
• Special rights in particular property -
Wisconsin Collection Law
by
Call Number: KFW2930 .W682Publication Date: Updated Annually"For your Wisconsin debt collection cases, Wisconsin Collection Law provides in-depth discussion of substantive debt collection law and detailed explanations of procedural rules, accompanied by practice pointers and step-by-step guidance. Coverage includes:
• Consumer bankruptcy
• Identity theft
• Exemptions from execution
• Domestic asset protection trusts" - Thomson Reuters
-
Collection actions: Defending Consumers and Their Assets
by
Call Number: KF1024 .C37 2024ISBN: 9781602482111Publication Date: Updated Annually"The only treatise to detail consumer defenses to debt buyer and creditor collection lawsuits on credit card, medical, criminal justice, and other consumer debts." - National Consumer Law Center -
The Consumer Credit and Sales Legal Practice Series
by
Call Number: KF1040 .W83 2022ISBN: 9781602482005Publication Date: 2022"For forty years, NCLC's Fair Credit Reporting has been the leading treatise on credit reporting litigation. This tenth edition and its continuous digital updates keep practitioners current with the latest U.S. Supreme Court rulings, CFPB interpretations, federal and state legislative changes, government enforcement actions, caselaw developments, and changes to industry practices." - National Consumer Law Center
-
Credit CARD Act of 2009 : Credit Card Accountability Responsibility and Disclosure Act of 2009
by
Call Number: KF1040.C541 S6 2009Publication Date: 2009• Summary of provisions
• Detailed explanation of Truth-in-Lending Act changes
• Truth-in-Lending Act : sections affected by the Credit CARD Act of 2009 -
Credit Descrimination
by
Call Number: KF1040 .C74 2022ISBN: 9781602481992Publication Date: 2022"A number of federal and state discrimination laws having a surprisingly varied applicability in consumer cases, including the Equal Credit Opportunity Act (ECOA), Fair Housing Act, several Civil Rights Acts, state discrimination statutes, the Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA), and the Community Reinvestment Act (CRA)" - National Consumer Law Center -
Credit Repair
by
Call Number: KF1040.Z9 L46 2009ISBN: 9781413310191Publication Date: 2009• Assess your debt situation
• Avoid overspending
• Handling existing debts
• Clean up your credit report
• How creditors and employers use your credit report
• Building and maintaining good credit -
Fair Debt Collection
by
Call Number: KF1024 .H63 2022ISBN: 9781602481985Publication Date: 2022"For over 40 years, Fair Debt Collection, cited multiple times by the U.S. Supreme Court, is the leading treatise on the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), providing all the tools a practitioner needs to recover actual and statutory damages and attorney fees for both individual and class action cases." - National Consumer Law Center -
Handling Consumer Credit Cases
by
Call Number: KF1040.F6 H3Publication Date: Updated Annually"Handling Consumer Credit Cases provides a transactional approach to the law and explains the impact of each law as it affects consumer credit. It contains the history of new and revised credit statutes and regulations, as well as official text and in-depth analyses of developing consumer credit areas." - Thomson Reuters
-
Solve Your Money Troubles
by
Call Number: KF1501.Z9 L46 2009ISBN: 9781413314212Publication Date: 2011Includes information for consumers on debt, debt collectors, loans, bankruptcy, credit discrimination, and the effect of marital status on credit and debt. -
Truth in Lending
by
Call Number: KF1040 .T46 2023ISBN: 9781602482074Publication Date: 2023"The definitive Truth in Lending treatise from the nation’s TILA experts, now in its tenth edition." - National Consumer Law Center
