Estate Planning
Ask a Librarian
Books
Advanced Estate Planning Techniques by Call Number: KFW2544.A75 A432 2010Publication Date: 2010Federal and state gift tax in a nutshell -- Ethical estate planning: in your client's best interests -- Irrevocable life insurance trusts -- Estate planning for retirement assets -- Charitable giving -- Family planning and the chapter 14 rules -- Generation-skipping planning -- Planning for non-citizens- Advising the Evolving Family by Call Number: KFW2811.5.H64 A38 2021ISBN: 9781578626151Publication Date: 2021"Advising the Evolving Family gives up-to-date guidance on the legal issues affecting these unique relationships and families." - State Bar of Wisconsin
- The Basic Wills Handbook: A Guide to the Wisconsin Basic Wills by Call Number: KFW2540 .E74 1995ISBN: 9780932622655Publication Date: 1995From the Center for Public Representation.
- Drafting Effective Wills and Trusts by Call Number: KFW2544.A75 D72 2015Publication Date: 2015Fundamental principles of will drafting -- Using living trusts and powers of attorney as estate planning tools -- Basic tax considerations: what you need to know in order to choose the appropriate plan -- Ethics and estate planning -- Planning methods to control medical treatment -- Wisconsin's new trust code
- Eckhardt's Workbook for Wisconsin Estate Plannners by Call Number: KFW2540.E35 W67ISBN: 9781578625475Publication Date: Updated Annually"The Workbook is a one-stop reference book with a practical, how-to approach. Checklists, examples, tables, charts, and diagrams simplify and integrate the topical discussions. Annotated sample forms illustrate how general principles can be applied in practice." - State Bar of Wisconsin
- Estate Planning for Non-Traditional Families by Call Number: KFW2540.A75 E872 2007Publication Date: 2007Non-traditional family defined -- Overcoming challenges in planning for remarried couples -- Estate planning techniques for unmarried couples and protecting the children's financial future -- Common considerations in estate planning for non-traditional families -- Ethical considerations
- Estate Planning From A to Z by Call Number: KFW2547.A75 E88 2019Publication Date: 2019Client screening and intake -- Key elements of effective wills -- Basic tax planning and updates -- Documenting long-term care, incapacity and end-of-life decisions -- Planning for unmarried and remarried couples -- Business succession planning -- Trusts 101 -- Who is the fiduciary? -- Revocable living trusts -- Trusts used for tax reduction-drafting tips and samples -- Grantor trusts -- Ethical considerations
- Estate Planning Handbook for Native Americans by Call Number: Electronic Resource (accessible online)Publication Date: 2007"This Estate Planning Handbook for Native Americans in Wisconsin was created by the collective effort of
law students, attorneys, and organizations who are interested in providing estate planning
information and assistance to the Native American community in Wisconsin." - Acknowledgements, The Great Lakes Indian Law Center at the University of Wisconsin Law School - Family Estate Planning in Wisconsin by Call Number: KFW2540 .F36 2017; Electronic Resource (accessible online)Publication Date: 2017A 60 page overview of estate planning in Wisconsin, covering property distribution, taxes on property transfers, and estate planning tools.
- Key Issues in Estate Planning and Probate by Call Number: KFW2540.A75 K491 2008Publication Date: 2008Shifting value and transferring interests: overview of federal estate and gift tax laws -- Estate planning for incapacity of the client -- Protecting the passage of wealth -- Selected issues in probate -- Facing taxes after death: post-mortem planning -- In your client's best interests: ethical considerations -- Keeping an eye on federal income tax issues
- Top Estate Planning Techniques by Call Number: KFW2540.A75 A44 2009Publication Date: 2009Advance medical directives -- Wills -- Durable financial power of attorney -- Basic gifting and estate planning techniques -- Charitable giving -- Irrevocable life insurance trusts -- Qualified personal residence trusts -- Business entities -- Supplemental needs trusts -- Leveraged freezes using GRATs and GRUTs
- Wisconsin Estate Planning, Will Drafting and Estate Administration with Forms by Call Number: KFW2540.A15 W57ISBN: 9781522194378"This work, authored by a Wisconsin attorney with over a decade of estate planning experience, is wide-ranging and up-to-date, with chapters on everything from choosing estate planning devices to valid will requirements to the role personal representatives and powers of attorney. Wisconsin Estate Planning, Will Drafting and Estate Administration with Forms is well organized and clearly written, making it an indispensable text for newcomers to the field as well as experienced practitioners." - LexisNexis
- Estate, Tax and Personal Financial Planning by Call Number: KF6297 .E87Publication Date: Updated Quarterly"A multi-volume set that covers the laws of wills, trusts, and the various taxes that affect lifetime and testamentary transfers. Also covers the income of estates and trusts, along with other areas that will impact your creation of a comprehensive estate plan." - Thomson Reuters
- An Estate Planner's Guide to Family Business Entities by Call Number: KF1380 .M39 2020ISBN: 9781641056533Publication Date: 2020"A logical, user-friendly framework for selecting the most appropriate means of transferring wealth through the establishment of a business entity, including S corporations, C corporations, partnerships and LLCs." - American Bar Association
- Estate Planning for Farmers and Ranchers: A Guide to Family Businesses with Agricultural Holdings by Call Number: KF750 .K4Publication Date: Updated Annually"Estate Planning for Farmers and Ranchers addresses the unique estate planning challenges faced by farm and ranch families. The text provides full coverage of gift, income, and estate taxation" - Thomson Reuters
- Estate Planning for Same Sex Couples by Call Number: KF750 .B87 2015ISBN: 9781634253024Publication Date: 2015"This new edition of Estate Planning for Same-Sex Couples by award-winning author Joan M. Burda attempts to address certain struggles for equality and how these issues affect estate planning for LGBT clients. For example, not all same-sex couples get married. These blended families will continue to present challenges that must be addressed. Preparing an estate plan for LGBT clients requires a creative and comprehensive approach. The issues these clients present are unique and involve considerations not usually seen with heterosexual clients." - LexisNexis
- Family Estate Planning Guide by Call Number: KF750 .H38Publication Date: Updated Annually"With Family Estate Planning Guide, resolve estate planning problems with creativity and sure knowledge of the law." - Thomson Reuters
- Flexible Trusts and Estates for Uncertain Times by Call Number: KF730 .H67 2021ISBN: 9781641058254Publication Date: 2021"Written for lawyers who have expert knowledge of estate planning and will and trust drafting issues, this new edition refines and expands the analysis that experienced practitioners have come to expect from this title, and includes more than 150 sample forms and more than 20 complete wills, trusts and other instruments, with extensive analysis of the options for completing them." - American Bar Association
Introduction to Estate Planning in a Nutshell by Call Number: KF750 .L9 2019ISBN: 9781642425987Publication Date: 2019"This Nutshell presents an introduction to basic concepts and techniques of estate planning. Subjects covered include transfers of property at death by will or intestacy; inter vivos gifts; survivor interests; revocable and irrevocable trusts; community property; life insurance; retirement, disability and death benefits; charitable trusts; future interests; fiduciary administration; and federal estate and gift taxes." - West Academic
A Lawyer's Guide to Estate Planning: Fundaments for the Legal Practitioner by Call Number: KF750 .H86 2018ISBN: 9781641050289Publication Date: 2019"This book provides a helpful introduction to the basics of estate planning. It is written with an eye toward the needs of general practitioners and those who are seeking to develop a specialty in the estate-planning field. For this reason, the text is written in a user-friendly manner that provides basic text treatment of the subject along with cautions, examples, and planning pointers clearly denoted throughout the book. The cautions point out problem areas that must be considered to avoid an unwanted tax or other problem. The examples supplement the text and illustrate the point being discussed. The planning pointers show how to use the tax laws to benefit the tax and other planning needs of clients." - American Bar Association- Restatement of the Law, Property: Wills and Other Donative Transfers by Call Number: KF395.A2 P742ISBN: 9780314239372Publication Date: Updated Annually"This work is a culmination of ALI’s 20-year project to update the law of wills and succession. It is a comprehensive treatment of the American law of wills, will substitutes, intestacy, gifts, powers of appointment, present and future interests, and the construction of donative documents. The coverage includes subjects in the Restatement of Property and the Restatement Second of Property (Donative Transfers), both of which are now superseded." - American Law Institute
- Tax Management Portfolios (Various Titles) by Call Number: KF 6289 .A1 T353Publication Date: Updated Periodically"Written by leading tax practitioners, Tax Management Portfolios cover virtually every tax topic with deep analysis, real-world examples, working papers, and the perspectives you need to make informed decisions." - Bloomberg Tax
