Foreclosure

Useful Websites

Avoiding Foreclosure
Tips and advice from the US Department of Housing and Urban Development.
Beware of Foreclosure Rescue and Loan Modification Scams
From the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation - learn about common scams and frauds to protect yourself.
Foreclosure
Foreclosure and rental units, from the Tenant Resource Center.
Foreclosure Report
A comparison of states' consumer protection provisions. Compiled by the National Consumer Law Center.
If I Can't Pay My Mortgage Loan, What are My Options?
An article from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.
Mortgage Relief Scams
"Scammers promise to make changes to your mortgage loan or take other steps to save your home, but they don’t deliver. Never pay a company upfront for promises to help you get relief on paying your mortgag"
Wisconsin Foreclosure Timeline
Created by Kenosha County

ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals
Digital collection of all current and historical periodicals from the American Bar Association that cover all areas of American law.
Bar Journals
Contains more than 160 titles featuring nearly all state Bar Journals, select publications from the American Bar Association, and City Bar Journals.
Business Source Premier
Business research database with full-text journals, profiles, reports, and related news. For college-level and adult researchers. [Searches Business Source Premier, Regional Business News, Newswires and Web News] This database is provided by Wisconsin Badgerlink.
HeinOnline
Available remotely to cardholders, with some restrictions. This database features several collections of journals, primary law, treatises, and reports.
Lexis Digital
eBook versions of popular Lexis titles. Titles include Employment in Wisconsin: Guide to Employment Law, Collier on Bankruptcy, Corbin on Contracts, Nichols on Eminent Domain, and more. Also available in the library.
MasterFILE Complete
Popular full-text magazines, reference books and other sources from the world's leading publishers. This database is provided by Wisconsin Badgerlink.
National Survey of State Laws
Provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the U.S., compiled by Rich Leiter. Contains the 9th, 8th, 7th, 6th, and 5th editions to compare laws in different years.